Methil Heritage Centre is a small local history museum and archive.
We also have a small tea room and a book shop
Free Entry
Methil Heritage Centre is a local history and exhibition venue situated in lower Methil, central Fife. Originally called Lower Methil Heritage Centre it was created by Lower Methil Community Association.
The centre was initially only open for a 6month period beginning on the 29th March 1991, and was situated in the old 1936 Post Office building which had been given to the Association on a 6month lease. The funding for the centre came from an EU initiative called the Urban Programme. The first exhibition was put on using objects loaned from Kirkcaldy Museum and donations from the local community.
After its initial success it was decided that the centre would remain open permanently, run by a trust made up of local people. Unfortunately in 1996 the Urban Programme which funded the centre was shut down. It was at this stage that Fife Council took over the funding and management of the centre.
Methil Heritage Centre is now run by Fife Cultural Trust. There is currently one paid member of staff onsite as well as volunteers from the Friends of Methil Heritage.
Our aim is to make the history of Levenmouth accessible to everyone. As well as exhibitions twice a year the centre also has a dedicated archive team from the Friends of Methil Heritage who collect and manage an extensive archive of material from the local area. The Friends also do outreach work around the community.
Tags: Museum,Tea Room,Book Store